Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
groovy1_gw

Celebrity-Good Variety for Beginner?

groovy1
16 years ago

The last few years I had a lot of problems with indeterminate heirloom tomatoes, most likely in part because of the high humidity and very high heat that we experienced in the recent NJ summers. I admit, I am an amateur and know very little about growing tomatoes except basic pruning, so many mistakes were probably made on my part too.

This year I resolved to grow hybrid determinate varieties that would be a little easier to manage. I plan on either staking or caging them, the Bush Early Girl that I had a few years ago almost grew out of the cages, but not quite, same with the Roma, so I was pretty confident with the caging idea.

I was planning on doing the Roma again and today someone recommended the Celebrity hybrid. Can anyone give me a thumbs up or down on the Celebrity for my goals and could you give me a recommendation on how to best manage them as far as staking, caging, etc, to keep them healthy and productive?

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

Sincerely,

Mark in NJ

Comments (7)

• kubotabx2200
    16 years ago

You don't have to prune Celebrity and I would advise against it. Just let them grow. They are not too large so if you grow them in a good size cage and let them alone you will do fine. Celebrity are an easy variety to grow, they are productive but they are not the most flavorful variety out there.

• calichef
    16 years ago

We grew Celebrities last year and they were amazingly successful! They are INdeterminates, though. Don't worry about what all the heirloom growers say about them, they taste great. Bonus: they are easy to grow and don't need to be babied along.