Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thirsty_dirt_77

Unhappy Tomatoes

thirsty_dirt_77
10 years ago

So this is my first year growing tomatoes from seed.

About 6 1/2 weeks ago I started my tomatoes from seed. They were planted in cells that were 2' in diameter and 4' deep in Shultz Seed Starter mix.

They did very well up until the last few weeks. I started seeing some yellowing on some leaves, mainly the larger plants and was told I was over watering so I cut back on the water. As the plants were getting older and were fairly purple last week I also gave them a dose of sea weed fertilizer that was diluted to 50%. At this time I also potted up the worst of the tomatoes and they are doing better but the older leaves are still being affected by something. The other tomatoes seemed to be getting better for a few days but took a turn again over the weekend.

I had them under a grow light for sixteen hours a day but have since removed them from under a light. They are now on front of a west facing window where they receive more heat and natural sunlight (we now recieve about 15.5 hrs of daylight.) I thought maybe since the taller plants were more affected it could have been from the bulbs I was using.

Something else that I've changed in the past few weeks was the type of water. As we can't use our well water for plants(high sodium) we collect the leftover RO water from drinking glasses and use that for the plants. A few weeks ago I started to bring city water (heavy chlorinated this time of year) home to keep up with the demands of all my plants. Could this also be causing problems?

I know its probably not the best thing to do but I have been pruning some of the more damaged leaves incase its something bad that will spread to the rest of the plant or others. They are still growing and the new leaves are a deep green and only the older leaves seems to be affected by something.