Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nubiegardener

Is this blossom drop? Or a baby tomato?

nubiegardener
10 years ago

Hey guys, so my tomatoes are blooming with a bunch of flowers. I have a nice round tomato on one plant, but the rest are looking like ones in this photo. Is this a baby tomato? Or is it unpollinated? It's been like this for a week with no growth. This is my first time growing tomatoes, so I've no idea what to look for. Thanks!

Comments (31)

• edweather USDA 9a, HZ 9, Sunset 28
    10 years ago

Actually it's an unpollinated blossom. If it were blossom drop, the whole thing falls off.

• nubiegardener
    Original Author
    10 years ago

So should I just cut it off? This has happened to almost every flower on my tomato plant. I tap and shake my plants every day. What else can I do to improve pollination?

• seysonn
    10 years ago

I have never heard of "unpolinated" tomato. I know it happens in melond, squash... but not in tomatoes. Tomato flowers have both sex organs(male and female on each flower) Nothing will form if polination is not done.

So my adviice is, just leave them to be.

10 years ago

Well....it's definitely not pollinated. I've seen enough of 'em. The pollination just didn't take. Common in early season. Not every blossom pollinates...oh how I wish they would. You can remove it or it will eventually fall off by itself. It's not taking anything away from the plant if you leave it. If you leave it, then you can watch it and see what happens to it.

• missingtheobvious
    10 years ago

Sorry, ed, but all baby tomatoes start out that way. It may grow larger or stay as it is, but it's definitely been pollinated. Unpollinated flowers are unmistakeable because the last half inch or so of the flower stem falls off, not simply the yellow flower petals. That is blossom drop: when the whole thing falls off: the petals, the green sepals, and half the blossom stem.