Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
piltdown

Florida Weave Questions

piltdown
10 years ago

I just set up a Florida Weave using T-Posts and Mason Twine (I think it's Poly, #32). I followed the diagrams from Barefoot Gardner, and pulled the twine taut. It's a little disconcerting to sandwich the branches together so tight, but I guess that's the idea- right?

My concern is that the twine is pushing up against the main stem of several plants, and looks like it might have (and be?) cutting into them a bit. Is this normal for the FW? Or- am I pulling it too taut, or using the wrong kind of twine?

There's a pic of the full weave below (did I do this right?), and here's a link to a pic of the twine pushed up against a stem:

{{gwi:1340370}}

I'm new to this- any thoughts or suggestions appreciated.

Comments (8)

• seysonn
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I am no FW expert but I think normally is between two twines and free. So in case of wind or something the stems should come in contact wit the twines on either side. Therefore , the twines on two sides should have a minimum spacing, in order not to squeeze the stem.
    It also occurs to me that the stem must be restraint , in order to to fall in the direction of almost two parallel twines. So there has to be some kind af arrangement on both sides,

• monet_g
    10 years ago

I have never used the FW, nor have I studied the design. Does the twine have to cross? If you uncross it and pull it tight, it should eliminate the problem. Otherwise, you could use spacers of some sort along the line.

• mule
    10 years ago

The plants will tend to rub and get some scarring from the twine. It's not something you should set out to do but the plant should normally heal. So a little rubbing damage could happen but it is usually not something to worry about - especially in smaller gardens.