Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pocketmole

A forum's worst nightmare - tomato newbie!

Bag of Bees
14 years ago

Greetings, all! I'm new to the forum here - much to the dismay of the experts here I'm sure. :) I spent an hour or two looking through this section and using the search feature to find an answer to my question, but after a while I decided it's probably best to just share my photos.

First off I suppose I will share a little bit of background on myself and my gardening "adventures".

I'm a freelance artist from Texas that has a tendency to kill every plant form within a 15 yard radius, yet for some crazy reason I thought it would be a great idea to start a container garden on my apartment balcony. Though I've been plagued with a black thumb in the past, I'm quite determined to grow a tomato plant (and a cucumber, some herbs, and flowers) of my own.

In my subject I mentioned that I'm a tomato newbie - that would be a slight understatement as I'm a complete gardening newbie, not just a tomato growing one. My expertise on tomatoes goes about as far as knowing they're delicious with basil and olive oil :D

All of that said, I have done a bit of research on the topic of growing veggies and such. I think it goes without saying that all the internet sites and books in the world can't really count for personal experience, which I have yet to acquire.