Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vince_chemist

Daconil the Devil?

16 years ago

No, I am not an organic nut. But I am a bit concerned about some of the chemicals the FDA says are safe. Why? Well at one time it was supposed to be safe to spray DDT in affluent US Neighborhoods. I have seen commercials with "Happy Children" playing and. froliking in the DDT dust of a FDA approved truck. I am no historical expert but my opinion is that big bisuness doesn't admit it may be harming people until there is a law suit. Ok, now for some chemistry. I am not so stupid when it comes to this subject(but maybe at growing Toms I am a novice).The chemical structure of Daconil is like nothing I have ever seen in a natural product. Lots of chlorine atoms and a few cyanide groups surrounding a benzene ring. Maybe it is not bad, but my chemical intuiition says I would feel guilty feeding it to my 2 year old son(or my wife for that matter). I don't want to start a controversy, but my feeling is that if any one could give me an example of such a nasty looking natural product that can be metablized safely by the Human digestive tract, it would be very much appreciated. Wish I could consiously use the stuff as my plants are taking a beating from fungus this year. Cheers all, and remember I a not an organic nut just a guy who wants the truth.

Vince

Comments (38)

• 16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Vince, there are many threads here about Daconil where you can read the links and comments made by others. The search feature is at the bottom of this page/

I also suggest that anyone wanting info about any product access EXTOXNET, which is NOT a goverment connected organization and read about Daconil or anything else for that matter.

I think it's good to remember that toxicity is uppermost in everyones mind, toxicity for humans, fish, insects, and the environment in general.