Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nospamkevin

How long do tomato flowers live if not pollinated?

NoSpamKevin
9 years ago

This is my first time growing tomatoes and the variety I'm growing is Black Krim. I'm in zone 9 in Southern California. I have 2 plants in the ground, and 1 plant in a self watering container. They were transplanted on May 8th and are currently about 5ft tall now (~6 weeks). I've been pruning the suckers and tried to keep each plant to just 2 main vines, but one plant has 3 vines (I topped the 3rd vine). The vines are very thick, easily 1" in some areas. I've been pruning once a week to keep the branches from gettting too dense, and to keep them from hanging onto the ground.

I have lots fo flowers, but only 1 tomato so far. The single tomato is down near the ground and is probably from the first set of flowers to grow. I first noticed it 3 weeks ago and now it's maybe a bit bigger than a golf ball. There's probably sets of flowers every 8"-10" all the way up to the top of the vine. I've noticed that several flowers have fallen off. Some flowers don't seem they they ever opened, or barely opened (or maybe I just missed it when they did). Some flowers are withering, and some have petals that have opened wider.

I've attached a pic of my black krims. The fence behind the trellis is about 6ft tall. Off the top of my head, I think I made the squares in the netting either 6" or 7" apart.

My questions are:
1) when tomato flowers bloom, how long do they live before they are no longer fertile?
2) if tomato flowers are properly fertilized, how long does it take before you actually see the tomato forming?
3) once a tomato is forming, is it supposed to grow really really slow?
4) the tag for my plants say it takes 75-85 days to maturity. I'm basically around day 44 with only 1 visible tomato. Should I be worried something went wrong?

This post was edited by NoSpamKevin on Mon, Jun 23, 14 at 2:39

Comments (8)

• NoSpamKevin
    Original Author