Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Fall Tomatoes?

Posted by gardenmommy_2010 Sac, CA 8/9 (My Page) on
Mon, Jun 13, 11 at 3:06

Okay, so I'm fairly new to gardening. Grew up w/ my dad's awesome garden & had a couple small gardens in the past but this is my first year attempting to "really" garden. I've noticed that some people w/ long growing seasons refer to planting fall tomatoes or their July planting. Please explain. I have a fairly long growing season. Should I be doing this? I thought indeterminate plants would continue producing till the last frost (mid Nov for me). Is the second planting another determinate crop? Is it for people w/ even longer growing seasons? I'm just wondering as I may have additional tomato room if I lose some to black spot. Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Fall Tomatoes?

• Posted by bets z5A ID (My Page) on
    Mon, Jun 13, 11 at 12:37

Hi Gardenmommy,

That's a good question. I don't live in one of those area's, but I will give a shot at answering.

A lot of the people who plant second or fall crops of tomatoes live where the summer heat (or disease) basically kills off the tomatoes and the chances of them coming back to produce later is slim to none. Parts of Texas (where I grew up) will literally crisp a tomato plant in July in spite of copious water. Since numerous municipalities have ordinances controlling the watering of lawns and gardens when it's that hot, due to limited water supplies, in some place is doesn't make sense for gardeners don't try to carry them through the heat. I understand that in Florida where the humidity is high and when it gets hot, the plants are very susceptible to diseases, so they die out or growers will pull them and start a second crop for when the weather is cooler. (I think many parts of Florida have 4 seasons: not so hot, hot, hurricanes, then pretty cool.)