Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tennegreen

BER Acidity vs watering Help

tennegreen
16 years ago

Hello,

First time gardener here and I am having issues with most of the first fruit on my heirlooms contracting BER. I know the two main causes, over watering and soil acidity.

Tomatoes are supposed to get 1 inch of water per week. Can someone help me calculate what that means as far as how much water to actually apply? I have a 4x8 bed, so does that mean 1153 cubic inches of water a week? Converting that to a usable number is the challenge. I have a garden hose and a gallon can.

Also, I got some lime, just to be safe. Any guidelines to applying that to individual plants at ground level? I sprinkled a few spoon fulls around each plant and watered. Am I just wasting time since the plants will be unable to use the lime? I disolved it in the watering can and applied that way this morning.

I'm a newbie gardener, but generally have done my homework. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (11)

• schwankmoe
    16 years ago

1 gallon is 231 cubic inches, to start. figure out your water needs from there.

the main cause of BER is plant stress. it shows itself as BER in a loss of calcium from the fruit which causes the end to turn into a sodden mass.

this isn't usually caused by a lack of calcium, there was plenty of calcium in the fruit. what happened was stress on the plant caused it to redirect calcium from the fruit into the rest of the plant.

so eliminate the source of stress and BER should go away on its own. often the biggest thing that sets it off is screwy watering. if you want to water your tomatoes, you want the water to make it deep down, so a dripper hose is a good idea.