Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cactusguy250

Brown and curling tomatoes

cactusguy250
10 years ago

This is my first time trying to grow some edibles in containers and I'm having some troubles with my tomatoes, they are slowly turning brown and I'm worried it might be blight. It could just be nutrient burn because i never mixed plant food into the soil so i have been using 20-20-20 water soluble plant food at half strength every week. They have been growing really strangely as well. they stems will turn 90 degrees so the leaves are facing down. Anybody have any ideas to get these guys back on track?

http://postimg.org/image/wpk4d1zht/

http://postimg.org/image/xyllhm4qn/

http://postimg.org/image/dd6tppn5r/

Comments (4)

• Bets
    10 years ago

Cactusguy's pictures:

To be able to suggest what might be wrong with your plant, it would be helpful to know more about the environment it is in. So, here are the "usual" questions:

What growing medium are you using? How large is the container? Is the container in full sun, part sun or shade?

It would be helpful to know these things as well: How often do you water? Do they stay as wet as they are in your pictures? Have you checked the moisture of the growing medium or soil 3-5" below the surface between waterings? Is it dry, just right, or soggy before you water again? What has the weather been like in your area?

Are there any other plants near the problem plant that are showing similar issues?

The more information you can give us, the better the chances that someone can give you an accurate diagnosis.

Betsy

This post was edited by bets on Fri, Jun 7, 13 at 18:41

• cactusguy250
    Original Author
    10 years ago