Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenerme_gw

Whqt makes a tomato ripen?

gardenerme
14 years ago

I understand the short day long day concept, but what exactly is it that makes a tomato ripen? I have lots of green tomatoes: grape, heatmaster, big boy, early girl, etc. but all are solidly green.

Is it the day length, heat, warm nites, what makes them ripen suddenly, when they have remained green for so long?

Comments (16)

• golbar
    14 years ago

Well, I'm no expert, but the fruits probably when ripen the seeds are mature enough to be dispersed. I think it's kind of an evolutionary adaptation that when seeds are mature, the fruits sugar content increases, which is something animals look for. Thus, the ripening of the fruit at the same time as the seeds are mature increase the chances that the seeds will be dispersed by animals as they eat the fruits.

So, what you want to know is how do the seeds mature. That's something that requires energy, which the plant gets with photosynthesis to synthesize molecules with high energetic bonds like ATP. That requires light, water and CO2. It also need all sorts of food like micro and macro nutrients, I'm also not sure but there might be some amino acids which the plant can't synthesizes. And of course water. With all that, the plant will be able to ripen your tomatoes.

You probably shouldn't worry too much about it tho. If they got where they're now, your tomatoes will ripen just fine.

• tiny1
    14 years ago

I am no scientist, barely an effective gardner, but it is my understanding that a gaseous hormone called "ethylene" causes fruit to ripen. That is why one should harvest tomatoes at first blush because the fruit will ripen as quickly and with the same taste as one left on the vine.

• Karen Pease
    14 years ago

Correct about ethylene, although it's not clear that leaving it on the vine longer doesn't help taste. Ethylene is a plant hormone that the tissues in the fruit respond to.