Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
emcd124

Eek! Please help: Curling leaves??

emcd124
11 years ago

I am a relative newbie gardener, and a long time lurker on gardenweb's tomato board. I've read through a number of posts on here about curling leaves (including the most recent one), and because most people seem to say that they really need pictures to distinguish among various causes (like pesticides, over/under watering, etc) I thought I would start a thread for my poor curling plants. I would really love any help y'all can give me. This is only my second year growing tomatoes, and I winter sowed them all so I love them like children!

Background facts: It has been hot around here, but until yesterday not brutal (avg 85-95 daytime). I water with a soaker hose for about 20-30 minutes twice a week when it is consistently hot and not raining. I stick my fingers down into the dirt and I only water when it feels really really dry at the tips of my fingers, but not actually bone dry.

I had just fertilized about two days before the curling started, so I'm wondering if that is the problem. I usually use tomatone, which says to do it every 2 weeks during fruiting season. I recently got a bag of pellet long release fertilizer, so I put down about half of the tomatone and half of the pellet recommended amounts, into a circle around the bottom of the plant about 3" from the stem and gently worked it into the top of the soil.

As you can see in pictures below, the curling doesnt seem to be affecting the whole plant. It seems to be affecting leaves almost randomly, like all the leaves on one shoot will curl, but ones from a branch next door will be fine. On most of the plants the lower leaves are affected but the uppers are fine.

I looked for traces of bugs and didn't see anything, though that doesnt mean they aren't there.