Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
daisyjoy5

Tomato Lingo?

daisyjoy5
9 years ago

Hi all,

I'm wondering if we can have a general area for interpretation of the lingo associated with growing tomatoes. I'm fairly new at it; this is only my second year. But when I'm browsing the threads I see a lot of terms that I don't really understand.

For example:
F1. What is this?
OG... organic?
IR: some sort of disease?

I'm just not clear on all of the shorthand and terminology.

Thanks!

Comments (14)

• digdirt2
    9 years ago

Daisy - Garden Web has a great Glossary that defines most all commonly used terms. For example:

F1 hybrid - First-generation cross between two pure-bred strains. These hybrids produce seeds that are not true to type. See also filial generation.

F2 hybrid - Second-generation cross between two F1 hybrids.

But that isn't going to cover everything since some abbreviations have multiple meanings and are often used within a specific context. So "IR" can mean lots of things and it depends on the discussion context it is used in.

"OG" generally means organic gardening but it too can have other meanings depending on the context of the discussion.

So you need to understand the context it is used in and when you don't, just ask on that thread - "What does OG mean in this discussion?"

We tend to get into the habit of using abbreviations when doing lots of posting and we forget others may not know what we mean but most all are more than willing to clarify.

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: GW Glossary

• daisyjoy5
    Original Author
    9 years ago

OK thanks! I must have missed the glossary, but searching through threads didn't turn up any sort of definitions that I was looking for.

What does it mean "not true to type"?

• theforgottenone1013 (SE MI zone 5b/6a)
    9 years ago