Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
My Jetstar isn't setting fruit

Posted by platys 5a/IL (My Page) on
Wed, Jun 17, 09 at 11:13

Hi all!

I'm growing tomatoes in containers (completely wrong, because I'm a newbie - my cages are too small, and I used a mix of top soil and potting mix), and they are all doing awesomely. I have fruit set on all of the plants except for one - my Jet star.

What seems to happen is that they get blossoms, all is well, and then.. nothing. Here's a pic of what I have:

Jetstar being all stubborn

All of my plants are in the same area - the red cherry, beefsteak, super fantastic and my orange variety all have fruit. The only thing I can think of is that I think I under watered the Jetstar and the Super Fantastic a bit - but making sure they are well watered hasn't helped.

Here's a pic of the the garden as of the 12th. They've grown even more foliage since then. The Jet star is in the back on the right hand side.

Tomato Farm

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: My Jetstar isn't setting fruit

You can't really compare different varieties when it comes to growing, fruit set, ripening, etc. but I'd be surprised if Jetstar was being stubborn when others weren't. It is a dependable variety and will come through for you I'm sure.

I wouldn't get too carried away with the water. Consistent level soil moisture is what counts and too much is worse for the plant than is too little. ;)

Dave

o

The consistant water level may actually be the problem. Back when I didn't realize that top soil would be problematic, I bought two 40 pound bags from the grocery store. Where it was stored outside. And it had rained non stop for like 3 days - when I got it home, one of my bags was pretty much mud.