Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bluedevilfan78

Roma spacing

bluedevilfan78
15 years ago

Hi all. I'm a newbie to this gardening stuff, so I have a novice question. I planted 10 Roma VF tomato plants 18" apart in a row, with concrete reinforcing wire cages around every other plant. Didn't have enough space to put one around every plant. Now, all the plants have sort of grown together to form a tomato hedge! Next year I think I will change spacing to at least 24", but am I ok with the 18" for this year? I'm worried about disease because the foliage is so thick. Please advise.

Comments (12)

• solanaceae
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I did them a foot apart last year in a raised be with potting soil(1/3 peat 1/3 compost 1/3 vermiculite). I had a steady 5-10 per day for about a month per plant. If you have rich soil 18" is great. I would say 18" is best for these. You are fortunate because Romas pack in together rather well. if you are concerned your soil is poor top dress it with compost. The Romas are determinate and goof(VF) disease resistance. Even if they did not resist late blight well by the time disease could even affect your crop your plants are done for the season anyway. If its your first year the soil is probably tomato pathogen free and most tomato problems are soil born . I would say you are looking good. Do you see any yellowing at the bottom? If not there is nothing to worry about. I had two good crops so after the first wave wait another few weeks and you should get a second wave.
    These are big producers so be ready for a heap of tomatoes.

• digdirt2
    15 years ago

I would agree with you that if you are going to use CRW cages, 24" would be better for next year, more for the cages than anything. Staked or trellised 18" will work but it does get over-crowded. It all depends on how much space you have.