Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
new_b_gardener

Need some info

new_b_gardener
11 years ago

Hello everyone,

Hope everyone is blessed. I am curious as to the growth of Park's Whoppers. This is my first time growing them (actually first time growing any kind of plant.) and I'm wanting to know how big do they get and how long does it normally take to get to full size? The reason I am asking is that I have read they get fairly large, but the tomatoes I have are basically the size slightly larger than a golf ball. They have been this size for about 3 weeks now and some of the other tomatoes on the plant a catching up with the first ones. Is it possible I am doing something wrong? Please I would be most grateful for any information. Oh! i for got to add I have had a problem with leaf miners. I am not sure if this could cause a stunt in the tomatoes growth. I have attempted to remedy this problem with tobacco tea as I have read this will get rid of this pest.

Comments (9)

• missingtheobvious
    11 years ago

You should see ripe fruit about 65 days from planting them out. [That's the amount of time I have written in my list, and those numbers are often the over-optimistic claims of seed- and plant-sellers, so a week after that would not be unexpected.]

I grew PW last year, and none were the 14 oz. I've read they're supposed to be -- but they were certainly larger than golf balls.

It's not unusual to feel the tomatoes have stalled and will never ripen. So at this point I'd just say to be patient, if the plant as a whole is looking healthy and happy.

I've never tried tobacco tea with leaf miners. The standard instructions are to squish them in the leaf or remove the infected leaves. If too many of your leaves are infected, I'd remove the leaflets which are mostly non-functioning, and squish the miners in the leaves where there is less damage. [All the leaves you remove should go out in your garbage, never composted or the miners will return in a few weeks.]