Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lillypadlanding

Tomato plants turning yellow

Lillypadlanding
10 years ago

I need some help with my tomato plants. Just got back from being gone for 2 weeks. The hubs was watering the garden and he said he did every day, but I came home to this. Not sure how much water he gave them every day and it hasn't been super hot in Southern California yet. Thoughts on what my problem could be? Does this look like a lack of food or water or too much water? This is my first time growing tomatoes (or much of anything) so Id love some input. Thank you.

Comments (15)

• Stellabee
    10 years ago

To me, that looks like some sort of deficiency-maybe potassium?! Hope an experienced tomato grower will chime in with more exactness for you...

• suncitylinda
    10 years ago

My best guess from appearances only is too much water and they need fertilizer. I live in SoCal and as you said weather has been nice. Watering in ground tomatoes daily seems excessive. Tomato plants will stop sending nutrients to lower leaves especially under the demands of setting fruit, which causes those leaves to yellow. There is a word for it, cant think of it now. Too much water can also result in yellow leaves. If you will post some info as to what fertilizer and/or amendments have been applied it will be easier for others identify the problems and corrections. As I said, I am just guessing based on looks.

• suncitylinda
    10 years ago

Oh, I thought that was a raised bed but now that I look at it it may be a container which would need much more watering than in ground .

• Lillypadlanding
    Original Author
    10 years ago

These are actually in big barrels, not in ground.

• edweather USDA 9a, HZ 9, Sunset 28
    10 years ago

Just curious. What type of mix is in the containers? And I'm assuming that there are drain holes in the barrels.

• jean001a
    10 years ago

They need fertilizer!

• simmran1
    10 years ago

Hi,