Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sonulya_gw

Tomato transplants problems

sonulya
9 years ago

Hello,

I am fairly new to gardening and am experiencing some problems with my tomatoes which I transplanted into the garden on May 24, so a little under 2 weeks. They are in a new raised bed which is filled with a mix of top soil and composted cow manure and other compost. I fed them a couple of days ago with tomato tone because my research showed that they may be underfed.

For starters, the leaves are yellow and seem weak. Also, the leaves on some plants have holes in them. I have found some tortoise beetles on a few of them but not all the wholes look like they've been eaten by something.

I appreciate all advice! I am just not sure whether these guys will recover from their ailments or if should pull them and restart. I grew them from seed and it would be so disappointing to lose them!

Comments (14)

• zzackey
    9 years ago

I wouldn't pull them out. I'd take off the bug eaten leaf.

• fireduck
    9 years ago

You are going to be fine. A good "general" type pesticide would be fine to spray. Generally, lower/older leaves often turn yellow and get removed after a couple of weeks or so. Two things: make sure you do NOT get the leaves wet when watering....especially when the sun will not dry them up immediately. Also, many hours (6 minimum) of direct sun is needed for maters.

• sonulya
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you for your responses. So they don't look like they are suffering from anything other than the tortoise beetles? The new leaves that are coming up are also not a bright green but a pale green.

That spot gets a lot of sun. I successfully grew 8 tomato plants in that part of the yard last year.

• sleevendog (5a NY 6aNYC NL CA)
    9 years ago

They look fine...the weather is about to kick in warm the next few weeks.