Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Added to much lime and tomato plants are dying! HELP!

Posted by akenney Richmond, VA (My Page) on
Sun, Jun 12, 11 at 14:46

Hello all...

I am new to gardening and made a stupid mistake. I added lime to my tomato containers because I thought this would make it more acidic (did a soil test and my soil was at 7.5) however, that is wrong! Now my tomato plants (especially the romas) are turning yellow, wilting, and dying (pretty much overnight), fruit seems to be unaffected. I watered with some diluted coffee to try to get the PH level closer to what it should be (everyone talks about coffee grounds but the coffee is more acidic than the used grounds. What can I do to save my plants?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Added to much lime and tomato plants are dying! HELP!

• Posted by bets z5A ID (My Page) on
    Sun, Jun 12, 11 at 17:01

Flush, flush, flush, flush!

I think your only chance is to run lots of water through the containers.

"I added lime to my tomato containers...did a soil test and my soil was at 7.5"

What in the...? Do you have garden soil in your containers? It really isn't a good idea to use dirt in containers, it compacts and will probably have poor drainage. If you have garden soil (including the bagged stuff you can buy) you may want to take the plants out of the pots and remove as much soil as you can and repot with a good quality growing medium.

If you have a commercial growing medium in them, why do a soil test? It should have been fine unless you were amending it.

Betsy

o