Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
afbq

What's going on? Lots of pics

afbq
10 years ago

This is my first year with an in ground garden. This spot used to be shady but my neighbors cut down trees and I thought it would be a great place to have a big veggie garden. I have a raised garden too where I've grown great tomatoes in the past. I feel like I 'm running into lots of issues this year because of crazy hot/cold weather and perhaps because I'm not familiar with this new plot of land.

So, perhaps you experts out there can tell me what is going on here? You can see that some of the leaves are yellow. Some plants are stunted and some are stunted AND brown. Some plants are growing GREAT. I've even got some pepper plants that are not so great.

Some facts: I'm in MD, zone 7b, montgomery county. It's been raining a lot. The weather has been crazy even past Mother's day we had a near freeze. The plot of land was prepared with LeafGro and manure.

#1 Sweet 100: Brown on the bottom but tomatoes on the top.

#2 Sweet 100 close up

#3 Marglobe with brown/yellow

#4 Stunted

#5 Overview where you can see the good tomatoes, the dead ones, stunted and even my sickly peppers

#6 You can see the dead tomato plant in the center of the frame

#7 Overview again

Comments (28)

• suncitylinda
    10 years ago

I am not an expert but unless leaf grow is a granular fertilizer, it is possible your plants are starving. You might try posting a close up of the yellow leaves on the pepper plants. The first two tomato plants look a lot like mite damage. Spider mites are tiny but visible if you shake the leaves over a white paper plate. Tomato Russet Mites are not visible with the naked eye but leave a brownish bronzing under the leaves.

• afbq
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I forget that it's a regional product this is from the website: Leafgroî is a superior quality compost used extensively by the landscape industry and homeowners as a source of humus for soil improvement.