Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Heirloom Brandywine Pink???

Posted by Mstorms2672 7 (My Page) on
Sun, Jun 8, 14 at 15:27

Hello! I'm new to GardenWeb so any help is gratefully appreciated. I purchased from Burpee a 4-pack of heirloom tomatoes, in addition to 2 other cherry tomatoes, 2 eggplants and 2 cherry peppers. The one pictured here was labeled Brandywine Pink. All of the plants are flourishing except this one. It's the shortest of all with large dark green leaves and has no sign of flowering. They were all planted during the last week in April.

If anyone can tell for sure what I'm growing I would truly appreciate it. Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Heirloom Brandywine Pink???

It's probably Brandywine, just as the label says. BW has potato-leafed foliage.

Linda

o

Yeah it has the potato shaped leaves of BWP but it doesn't look normal in color or appearance. I can't see any growing tip, just leaves, and they look too rugose for BWP.. Was it damaged in transit or since then? Does it have any sign of a growth tip?

Do all your other plants have such dark leaves?

Dave

o

Good question about the leaves Dave b/c to me they look almost look like spinach leaves. Something is cuasing thepleating of theleaves but with the picture shown they don't quite look rugose. at least to me,

If some folks here don't know the difference between the various kinds of leaves there's a good FAQ with pictures at the top of thepage that might help.

BTW the variety is called Brandywine,not Brandywine Pink and that's b'c the pink part is redundant since Branywine is pink' There are brandywines that are red, yellow and other colors and not all have PL foliage.

Carolyn

o

I went outside to look for a growth tip and I don't see one. The leaves and stem are sturdy, not wilted or discolored. I don't believe any damage occurred at all but I may have missed something.

o

Yeah I should have said rugose-like. Spinach is a good analogy for the appearance.