Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
satellitehead

Green Zebra, wilting branches

satellitehead
15 years ago

I started a thread about bugs on my tomatoes in my native GA forum, and I feel like it's mutated into a wilting thread and gotten a bit too specific for that forum, so I'm moving over here.

I have been growing tomatoes for ~3 years now, and for the first time ever, I purchased a couple of heirloom plants from a local store, and, coincidentally, this is the first time I've seen bugs or strange growing problems with my plants. Another person in that same thread I linked above happened to buy from the same store, and the exact same varieties they purchased are having similar issues; albeit there are slight differences from mine.

Long story short, it looks like both of the green zebras I bought have some kind of wilt; It is not affecting any of the other tomatoes. I don't know what kind of wilt it is, or if maybe it's something other than wilt.

A few key points:

* There are four tomatoes/three varieties in the same bed (2 x green zebra, 1 x mortgage lifter, 1 x red cherry)

* This new extended bed is brand new, isolated, nothing ever grown here previously

* It was filled with ~16cu ft. of Miracle Grow Garden Bed soil; 48" x 48" x 12" (L x W x D)

* They are not watered daily, soil is moist under the surface, but not saturated

* There are two other tomato varieties in the same bed, just a foot or two away, with no wilt problems

* There are no signs of moles or other pests in my yard

* This location gets at least 6 hours of aternoon sun every day.

* The tomatoes had several 1mm-2mm beige spider/beetle bugs on top of the leaves as reported in the thread linked at the top of this post (more details given there)

* No excessive # of pests are visible now, although I've seen a couple of what I think are assassin bugs, maybe a white fly or two (they're either ultra-small or dead), and some shell remnants of the 1mm-2mm bugs