Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Feeding tomatoes

Posted by sunshine9 5b (My Page) on
Sun, Jun 30, 13 at 16:54

I am new to growing a moderate sized garden of tomatoes that I started from seed. In MA, we have gotten a lot of water so I have not been watering them and they seem to finally be happy! But I have not added any fertilzing product for them. They have been in the ground a month.
What should I look for in a fertilizer/feeding product? And how often should I be doing this?
My tomatoes have flowers and one is starting a tomato.
Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Feeding tomatoes

• Posted by digdirt 6b -7 North AR (My Page) on
    Sun, Jun 30, 13 at 19:11

Lots of 'fertilizer' discussions here you can browse through for many opinions.

What to use is really your choice as long as it is well balanced without excessive nitrogen and provides micro-nutrients as well as N-P-K. There are many good products available both synthetic and organic.

How much of it to use, how soon, and how often all depends your soil condition and nutrient levels. If the bed was well prepped and amended before planting, drains well, has good tilth with a good level of organic matter included then the need for supplements may be minimal.

If not then regular supplemental feedings will be required. A very general guideline is after first fruitset and then approx. every 6 weeks throughout the season. But that can easily be too little or way too much depending on your soil.

Bottom line, just as with watering there is no "one size fits all" approach to feeding tomatoes.

Dave

o

My garden soil is a nice loam which has been improved by compost layering. I add compost and Plant Tone (or Garden Tone or Rose Tone) at planting time. I add more Plant Tone about every 6 weeks during the season. My plants are large and have set many fruits.