Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ctnewbie08

Pruning Cherry Tomatoes

ctnewbie08
15 years ago

This is my first time gardening, so forgive the newbie question, but I have to know - are the rules to pruning cherry tomatoes any different from pruning regular tomatoes? I have a lovely cherry tomato plant growing wonderfully and along the main stem there are about 7-8 branches. The flowering branches are mainly towards the top of the plant.

Comments (19)

• city_tomato
    15 years ago

Why prune at all? You'll get more maters if you don't.

• solanaceae
    15 years ago

Actually that is not true. One may end up with more tomatoes with pruning indeterminate plants. The first question is this determinate or indeterminate. It applies to determinate.
    The reason why pruning may help is lower leaves will end up being shaded rather early.The plant is directing energy in a non productive area in that case and takes more energy than it makes. A taller pruned plant will expend energy into growth that is likely to receive light through the season. You do have to get this right. Remember a tomato plant thinks its going to sprawl like its wild Peruvian cousin. If you train it up it will not sprawl and sections will be shaded that would not be naturally.
    There are other factors such as vertical space. In hot area shading as much as possible also is desired. I think its very specific to your goal but it does not necessarily impact production. Pruning may encourage disease or may prevent it.

• digdirt2
    15 years ago

are the rules to pruning cherry tomatoes any different from pruning regular tomatoes?

First we really have to know what you mean by this as many interpret the so-called rules very differently. ie: many mistakenly think that you HAVE to prune. So how do you define the "rules"? And how are you supporting it and what variety is it and is it in the garden or in a container? ;)