Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
avocado101

Hybrid Sungold Cherry Tomato seeds, when planted?

avocado101
10 years ago

This is my first year planting Sungold Cherry Tomatoes. Thanks to the recommendation from the people on this forum. But what happens when you plant the seeds from these fruits? My seeds were hybrid, so I'm not sure what I'll get. I guess I'm trying to find a cheaper way to get more of these tomatoes year after year :-) Has anyone tried this?

Comments (10)

• carolyn137
    10 years ago

Many people have saved seeds from F1 Sungold fruits, called the F2 seeds, and sowed them the next year.

Results are varied, some getting yellow fruits, some getting orange fruits and some getting red fruits, and the latter b'c in the parentage are genes for the long truss trait that come from a red variety.

And few have the taste of Sungold F1 despite claims made.

Reinhard Kraft in Germany has been working to get an OP variety that's close to the hybrid and has released 3 different selections.

Mule, who pasts here has one called Sun Lucky b'c it's a cross between Sungold F1 and Lucky Cross,and last I knew he was tryin gto make selections from plants that had the distinctive scent of the Sungold F1 foliage b/c apparently that scent and the Sungold taste genes are closely linked.

Keith, can you update us on that?

Carolyn

• sprager
    10 years ago

I did it once,and got away with it. To me,they looked and tasted the same.
    I pretty much stick with black Cherry for cherry tomatoes anymore. They aren't as sweet as Sungold,but darn good tomatoes. And they aren't hybrid. Not bashing Sungold. Just pushing Black Cherry

Fred

• fcivish
    10 years ago