Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cliffpruitt

Grrr... I broke my tomatos! Can anyone offer advice?

Cliff Pruitt
9 years ago

OK, so this is my first year trying to grow anything and I've got some hot peppers & tomatoes going. They're in containers (big plastic bins) with holes in the bottom filled with soilless potting mix. The bins are raised up and water can drain well. I started watering by hand and now have a soaker hose that I turn on briefly once a day when it doesn't rain. There have been a few instances where the plants have been watered an then it rained, and a week or so where we got a **lot** of rain.

OK, so all things considered my tomatoes started out great. Then one day I looked at them and my first thought was "Oh my! My tomatoes have contracted leprosy!". My second thought was "Wait... plants can't get leprosy." but that leaves me with the question of why my darling tomatoes look like they were on the losing end of a zombie apocalypse. Many of them, especially the more ripe ones, are showing dark / soft spots that are almost like bruises and are splitting. The splits are usually vertical, though sometimes there will be horizontal or irregular splits across a bruise. The wost one had the "bruise" turn into a large open wet sore. I found, and promptly deported, a few caterpillars, but I don't think that's related to this busing / splitting issue.

So, yeah... my tomatoes are pretty gross. I know I may not be able to save this particular batch but if I can do better for the new ones coming in & not yet up to mature size, or if I can learn from this for next year I'd love any advice on what I'm doing wrong.

Thanks!

Comments (5)

• lgteacher
    9 years ago

It may be from the rain. If you look at the link below, you can see photos of tomato problems with the cause and possible remedy.

Here is a link that might be useful: Tomato problem solver

• seysonn
    9 years ago

Can you post a picture of the whole plant ?

Probably they got some mold disease.