Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Moving Tomato Plants

Posted by shellie_wnj (My Page) on
Sat, Jun 13, 09 at 19:05

I am a VERY novice gardener. This is my first year trying anything, and I don't remember my mom having a garden growing up, so I am basically doing this first year as a "test year" and learning by doing. (Poor plants!) :)

I have a container garden - I live in the mountains, and the ground is so rocku I couldn't figuire out how to cultivate it to accomodate plants. So containers it was. I put too many plants in each container and now they are suffocating each other. I need to move a few, one of the ones that needs to be moved is a tomato plant. It was bought at a nursery, and transplanted about 3 or so weeks ago. It is starting to flower, but you can see it is stressed and it is suffocating other plants. Would I be able to move it into it's own container? How would I do that? At the very least, I have learned that each plant needs a good amount of room!

Thank you for any advice you can give me!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Moving Tomato Plants

I would take the plant out without worrying about roots comeing with the plant. better to tear off the roots.

Move the plant with a few roots to a new pot. Put into soil wet and leave in the shade to grow roots. It will come on late. but the plants in the old container will keep growing. If you tear up the roots of all the plants you will set them all back. this saves one plant to grow as fast as possible.

if you are in a warm long season area then you can chop off all the branches and make a new rooted plant from each branch.

where do you live. if you are in canada you probably do not have time for this and can just cut it down and throw away. It takes time. If you are south or california then this is a great way to make more plants for the fall crop.

o