Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Curling leaves + flies on tomato plant (early Girl)

Posted by aznboi385 CA/zone 9 (My Page) on
Sun, Jun 19, 11 at 19:31

I have an early girl tomato plant and it was doing fine until now. The leaves are curling up and there seems to be some yellowing on some leaves, some dark spots on the underside of some others while some looks unaffected. THere are also these small flies all over. THey look like small fleas and they seem to like to stick onto the tomatoes. I am assuming they are sucking out all the goodness. I have a bunch of tomatoes on the plant and this is my first time planting anything.

Please tell me what I can do to restore its health. Another note is that I usually water it daily before I go to work. This usually depends on if the soil looks dry to me. If it's wet, I leave it alone.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Curling leaves + flies on tomato plant (early Girl)

The leaf curl could be caused by either over or under watering. It could also be a response to stress from the roots curling in the container. I have two Old German plants, one in the ground, and another planted directly in a bag of potting soil. The one in the ground is fine, but the one in the bag has some serious leaf curl. I have tried skipping multiple days between waterings on the bagged plant, but it still has curled leaves. Nonetheless, it is growing well and producing fruit, so I'm not that worried about it.

I had a mortgage lifter do the same thing to me early this season, and I freaked out and pulled it out of the ground because I thought it had curly top, which is a virus that can destroy a crop of tomatoes easily. I did some research and realized that it was just my soil conditions and the habit of that plant. I replanted it and it has fruit on it now.....plus curly leaves.