Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ryanc95

How could you tell if your tomato plants cross pollinated?

RyanC95
9 years ago

I have a Big Beef tomato and a Roma tomato growing right beside each other. I want to save the seed, but I'm new to this and I don't want to get hybrids.

Comments (19)

• donna_in_sask
    9 years ago

Big Beef is a hybrid. You could bag the blossom of the roma once it's been pollinated. There's really no guarantee that they won't cross pollinate if they are grown close together.

• digdirt2
    9 years ago

Big Beef is already a hybrid so I assume you want to save Roma seeds? Then it will depend on your seed source as many of the Roma subtypes are also hybrids.

Otherwise the only way you will know they have or haven't crossed (the odds are slim) is to either prevent it (see link below) or save the seeds, grow them out next year and see what happens. You can't tell this year as the plants and fruit are unchanged, only the seeds are affected.

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: FAQ - How to prevent cross pollination

• missingtheobvious
    9 years ago

Ryan, if you bought a Roma seedling at one of the Big Box Stores, it was probably from Bonnie Plants. Their pots are peat/cardboard with plastic around the rim and a plastic variety tag. The bottom right corner of this page shows a tomato seedling with Bonnie's plastic labelling:
    http://bonnieplants.com/products/vegetables/tomato-varieties/all-tomatoes/roma-tomato

Bonnie's variety info is supposed to tell whether a variety is hybrid, and the Roma info says nothing about its being hybrid. I grew it three years ago, and noted in my variety info that it was presumably open-pollinated, as Bonnie's online info that year didn't say it was a hybrid.

• seysonn
    9 years ago