Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
topaz72

fertilizing

topaz72
11 years ago

This is my first year planting tomatoes. i planted three plants in the ground and mulched. My question is how often to use fertilizer on them and how close to the plant do i put it? I have MG for tomatoes. Thanks in advance.

Comments (10)

• dickiefickle
    11 years ago

What does it suggest on the container ?

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

As Dickie said your choice of fertilizer will determine how much of it and how often you use it. Just follow the label directions as they vary greatly from band to brand.

Dave

• wjtjr
    11 years ago

new to the form.

really looking for some thoughts on tomatoe ferterlizer.
    was told the stuff I am using nitrogens content (18%) is
    to high. would appreciate any help. maybe the best numbers or just the name of a good fertilizer.

TIA

God Bless America
    Trap

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

Hi Trap - type 'fertilizer' into the forum search bar at the bottom of the front page for many discussions and recommendations. Are you looking for organic ferts or synthetic? For containers or in-ground plants? For just a few plants or many? And how would you normally apply it?

I use fertigation for my plants - fertilize as I water with a drip system - so unless you do the same my personal preferences wouldn't be of much help.

Dave

• wjtjr
    11 years ago

Dave

did not think about any of the things you said. figured a mater plant was a mater plant LOL

I have mine in containers, was mixing miracle grow with water and fertilizing that way, have 7 beef stake and 3 cherry plants, as for organic or synthetic I really don't care.

thanks for the questions so I had enough sense to post the info needed.

thanks again

God Bless America
    Trap

• digdirt2
    11 years ago