Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
battalina

Blossom end rot???

Battalina
11 years ago

Hello everyone! This is my first year of growing veggies and I have a question regarding one of my tomato plants. My cherokee purple tomato has it's first tomato, but it's looking a little abnormal and I was wondering if this is the first sign of blossom end rot. I'm not sure if it's too early to tell, but first the blossom turned brown and dried up and now the little tomato is oddly shaped and looks like it has a hole on the side (which almost looks like it should be the bottom, kinda like it grew asymmetrically and moved it's bottom to the side).Also look at the other blossom in the first picture. It looks brown and dry just like the one with the tomato did before the fruit started growing. Here are some pics. Thank you for the advice.

From Drop Box

From Drop Box

Comments (14)

• carolyn137
    11 years ago

What you show is a very immature fruit and the brown stuff is just the remnent of the blossom which will fall off naturally.

The shape of young fruits is not always the same shape as the mature fruits for a variety.

Also, BER is seen at the bottom of the fruits, not the top.

Hope that helps.

Carolyn

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

Agree. Not even close to BER. You can pull up hundreds of pics of BER on the web for comparison.

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: BER FAQ

• missingtheobvious
    11 years ago

Okay: it has already been established that I am absolutely not an expert. But I did have the childhood nickname of "Eagle-eye" -- and I see the irregular growth also. The right side of the fruit is growing. The left side of the fruit hasn't grown, and the blossom-end is at the upper left. The "grain" of the fruit skin curves quite plainly.