Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_20080665

Tomato Leaves Problem

User
10 years ago

Hi,

I have been growing my tomatoes for about 2 months now and some of the branches seem to be turning yellow and falling off. I have attached a picture of the leaves. I was wondering if the problem is that I am overwatering them, underwatering them, or are they not receiving enough nutrients?

I planted them in 5 gallon bucks with organic kellogs soil that already has fertilizer in it. I just put in Jobe's organic tomato fertilzer in it yesterday.

Thank you for your help!

Comments (17)

• edweather USDA 9a, HZ 9, Sunset 28
    10 years ago

The branch is so far gone it's hard to tell what happened. Is that the only branch? yellowing is commonly caused by overwatering. Assume the buckets have drain holes in them.

• User
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you edweather for your response. I will upload some more photos so you can see what is going on. The buckets have lots of drain holes at the bottom that I created with a 1/4" drill bit. I forgot to line the bottom with rocks to allow a good drainage (this is my first time growing anything).

• User
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Here is another image of one of the plant leaves yellowing

• User
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Here is an image of the leaf starting to get spots on it. Note: these are also growing near a pine tree, so I don't know if that could cause any problems...

• User
    Original Author
    10 years ago

On this image you can see that some of the flowers are coming in just great and the plant is very green. But on this same plant, some of the leaves and branches are dying and just look terrible.

• User
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Here is the last image I took. Basically the flowers look like they are dying? maybe?

10 years ago