Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lantanascape

Hurrah for Stupice!

lantanascape
14 years ago

Our 10 year old niece will be here for the weekend, and I've been looking forward to letting her pick some cherry tomatoes - maybe even get her a little interested in veggies and gardens. Only problem is that it's been cool up until a week ago, and despite 50 or so fruit on my red currant, and 20+ on my Isis candy, nothing is even near ripe. Well, today when I was out, I spied a Stupice with a strong blush to it. Might not be ready to eat by Sunday, but at least it will be something for her to pick.

This is my first year growing Stupice, and I am so impressed to be getting a salad size tomato before even my first cherry. Stupice saves the day!

Comments (39)

• spaghetina
    14 years ago

That's so cool, and I bet it'll be tons of fun for her. Even my 60-something year old uncle went out to my garden today and couldn't help but pick tomatoes that he saw were almost ripe. He didn't care that they weren't ready yet, all he knew was that he wanted to shove his hands into my plants, yank off fruit, and eat them, lol.

I'm going to have go get my hands on some seeds for next year because I keep reading such nice things about stupice's production.

• recluse
    14 years ago

This is the first year I've grown Stupice. It was my first ripe tomato, but I found it a bit too tangy/tart for my taste.

If you are after production, Stupice is for you, but if you are looking for a sweet tomato, IMO you might want to try something else.

• yotetrapper
    14 years ago

I have a stupice plant. Nothing's ready yet, though, got a late start due to a soggy spring. Lots of greenies.

• tammysf
    14 years ago

my stupice is growing but the first tomatoes that set end of may are not getting bigger...they are about the size of golfballs and have just stayed that size for weeks now...

i know if just have to be patient but dang thats hard to do.