Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
anjn

Container tomato leaves are curling

anjn
9 years ago

Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to gardening and I started a container tomato plant a month ago. The plant seems to be doing fairly well - lots of blossoms and a few tiny tomatoes emerging. However, the leaves are curling up. Any ideas of why this might be? I have no idea if it's too much or too little water, fertilizer, etc. Pictures are attached.

A little more info: the plant is in the full sun on a deck and I generally water the plant every day until a tiny bit of water comes out the holes in the bottom. Whenever I check the soil with my finger, it is moist up to the first or second knuckle. The weather has not been the greatest - lots of rain and the nights have been a bit cool, but I think there has been some good sun most days (70s and 80s, though perhaps a few days of 60s here and there).

The plant was first (in a container) in garden soil that continuously feeds for a few weeks until I realized my mistake. I then transplanted to a bigger pot with potting mix made for containers around week 3 and added some organic plant food.

Thanks so much for the advice!

Comments (6)

• digdirt2
    9 years ago

It is called Physiological Leaf Roll (see link below). Many discussions here about it and its causes - plant stress. In containers it is primarily a soil moisture level issue - inconsistent soil moisture - but other contributing factors listed in the article.

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: Tomato Physiological Leaf Roll

• fireduck
    9 years ago