Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenmommy_2010

Burgandy Traveler, Mushy?

gardenmommy_2010
12 years ago

So it's my first time veering away from the typical red hybrids. One of my plants is Burgandy Traveler and, while I haven't had any yet, my in-laws have harvested two off their plant and report that they were both mushy. They say the tomatoes had great flavor and felt good but, once cut into, they were mushy. I know that Burgandy Traveler is considered a pink variety. Have they been picking them too late - overripe - or is this normal? I'm guessing I'll have a lot of trial & error going on this year what with all the different colored varieties - Black Prince, Black Krim, Orange Russian, Orange Strawberry, Hillbilly, Aunt Ruby German Green, Yellow Brandywine & Kelloggs Breakfast. What is the best way of determining ripeness? Is it best to pick when underripe while learning?

Comments (6)

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

Over-ripe. Waited way too long to pick.

Dave

• gardenmommy_2010
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks Dave. I'm guessing, if you're used to the classic red, w/ pink varieties you pick them when you think they're still not ripe. They shouldn't be the classic red color? How do you tell w/ your numerous varieties & colors? Is it by feel mostly? I'd better start looking at all their pictures. I'm sure by the time the season is winding down that I'll have the hang of this!

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

I pick at color break just as many other home gardeners do. Lots of discussions here about 'pick at break/blush'.

Nothing is gained by leaving them on the plant past breaker stage except possible damage. Ripening indoors has no disadvantages other than taking up counter space and lots of advantages. That way you don't have problems like over-ripe, bug or bird damage, splitting, cracking, hail, sun scald, etc.

When it comes time to eat do it by feel regardless of color.

Dave

• gardenmommy_2010
    Original Author
    12 years ago