Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
problem with Cherokee purples

Posted by Tabbi1117 none (My Page) on
Fri, Jul 18, 14 at 4:21

OK guys and girls of the gardening world. I am new to gardening, I learned everything I know from my late father in law and after he died I promised the family I would keep the garden going in honor of him. Well I'm lost. My father in law always loved his tomato plants and every year tried a new kind. This year the new kind I tried was Cherokee purple heirlooms. I planted late because I live in northern pa and our winter was long. I didn't get my plants in ground until after mothers day. Anyway I don't think my purples are going to make it.
All of my other tomato plants have just started ripening but the purples seem like they have stopped growing all together. Currently there are a lot of the actually fruit and they are a deep purple color, not soft at all and they are only maybe 2 inches in diameter. I thought these plants produced big tomatoes, but that doesn't seem to be what I am getting.
Is their something wrong with the plants or am I just being too impatient

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: problem with Cherokee purples

After Mother's Day is fine, I didn't get mine in the ground until early June up here. But the small hard purple fruit sounds strange - even if they were producing smaller fruit than normal, by the time they turn color they would be softening. Can you post pictures of the plant(s) and closeups of the fruit?

A phosphorus deficiency would cause purple leaves, but then they'd likely not even set fruit so I'm stumped. Also too early for ripe fruit on that variety given plant-out date.

o