Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Who has been eating my tomatos :(

Posted by fishacura 6 (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 5, 11 at 8:11

So I went out to look at my tomato plants yesterday and noticed a couple were black on the bottom. Then I noticed a plump little friend on a leaf. Some sore of catapillar. He's "granny smith apple" green with a dozen or so tiny white legs. He's very plump and probably the size of a mini snickers bar (maybe a bit less thick). I AM SURE HE HAS FRIENDS. Anyone know:

1. What this little bugger is?
2. If a mix of cayenne pepper/water will get rid of him and his friends?

This is my first year of gardening and I"m looking for any advice you may have. THANKS!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Who has been eating my tomatos :(

Possibly a Tomato Hornworm or Tobacco Hornworm?
Either way, the best way to stop them that I know of is to just pick them up and drop them in a bucket of soapy water. Insecticidal soap will kill them but only if it is sprayed on them, and they're so big they're just easier to pick up and drop in the bucket. BT supposedly works too, but I've never had a bad enough infestation to bother.

o

Thanks! What is BT????

o

If he's as big as you describe, he's too old for Bt to be effective.

Bt is short for Bacillus thuringiensis. It's useful against chomping caterpillars if the are less than half-grown. Same goes for any other pesticide.

After that age, deal with the cats directly: cut in half or drop into soapy water.

As for the black bottom, read the FAQ about BER (blossom end rot).
http://faq.gardenweb.com/faq/tomato/

Here is a link that might be useful: BER

o

• Posted by bets z5A ID (My Page) on
    Tue, Jul 5, 11 at 15:07

Bt (Bacillus thuringiensis) may not be effective on large worms, but fishacura, as you said "I AM SURE HE HAS FRIENDS" and they will be affected by a nice doping with Bt.

But of course, your mileage may vary.

Betsy

o