Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Newbie with Questions

Posted by pabstbluribbin 6A (My Page) on
Thu, Jul 3, 14 at 8:40

This is my first post on GW, though I've been reading a lot of the great information that is on here already, so thanks to those who have given me great advice! I am a newbie gardener, this is our second year gardening, and our first using SFG. We were in a community garden last year and too many issues made it a bad season for us so we decided to do raise beds in our back yard. We have two 4' x 6' raised beds with modified Mel's Mix (50% Mushroom Compost, 25% each Vermiculite/Peat Moss).

I have run into a couple issues and am hoping for some advice. See pictures below. It appears to be BER and Leaf Spot or Early Blight, not sure which. Any ideas on how to resolve the problem before it gets worse? I had problems earlier this year with tip burn on head lettuce (I think) which also appears to be calcium deficiency. Temps have been on average about 85 here. At one point I was deep watering every other day, but as I read more this seemed like too much so I've cut back to twice a week (less when it rains). I am also not using any mulch. Any help/advice/assistance would be greatly appreciated! I fear that overwatering and lack of mulch may be leaching the soil of nutrients and leaving the top layer too dry.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Newbie with Questions

Here is the photo of what appears to be BER.

o

you are correct on BER...and you may have bacterial speck. Bacteria/fungal issues are huge with tomatoes. Spray for these issues asap. Daconil is good. Never water by getting the leaves wet. Prune off bottom branches to alleviate wet leaves/branches.

o

Pull off any tomatoes with BER so that the plant can put it's energy into growing new ones.

Linda

o