Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nu_2_gardening

Planting Basil w/ Tomatoes....is there a benefit?

Nu_2_Gardening
11 years ago

I have had a few "old timers" tell me that planting basil plants close to tomatoes is extremely beneficial to the tomato plant. They said it improved the flavor of the tomato as well as provided a natural barrier for the hornworm. Anyone else have that experience? I am quite new to all this and I did it. I have no insect damage at all to my tomato plants but have not been able to harvest any fruit yet to see if there was a flavor difference. I look forward to your responses.

Comments (16)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

No, it's an old wives tale. Or in this case and "oldtimers" tale. :) Give it a try and see if it works for you.

Dave

• cole_robbie
    11 years ago

Old-timers tend to often do the right thing, but they don't explain themselves very well.

The flavor part might be a stretch. But a lot of bugs hate the strong smells that herbs give off. So do deer. If you grew a compact basil around the base of the plant like a low hedge, it would at least shade the ground and be pretty. For me, it would be worth it just to annoy the deer.

• timomac
    11 years ago

No clue about the flavor enhancing effect of planting Basil next to tomatoes. But, in my garden here in Chicago, they give the impression of being bug magnets. I've planted them between the rows of tomatoes in my modest garden and they seem to attract bugs.

I don't see many upset pests when I shake my tomatoes to assist pollination. When I bump a Basil plant, a small swarm of gnat-like bugs take flight. They return their Basil roost almost as quickly. So, I'm of the opinion that some of the nasty little critters here like Basil.

Now, I dunno if those critters would go after my tomatoes if it weren't for the Basil. They may have no interest in the tomato plants. But, here in Chicago, in the hottest Summer in recent memory, the bugs love Basil.

• opal52
    11 years ago