Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
diclemeg

Tomatoes as good ripened off the vine as on?

diclemeg
13 years ago

Been having lots of tomatoes crack and then get attacked by bugs, and I stumbled upon this article...

http://www.smallkitchengarden.net/small-kitchen-garden/the-vine-ripened-tomato-lie

I've picked several tomatoes that just blushed and are letting them ripen inside. They seem to be ripening quite well.

Are these tomatoes ripening off the vine gonna be as good as those ripened on the vine? Should I be doing this?

Comments (26)

• ashley9597
    13 years ago

This is my first year with tomato plants and here is what I have learned from the wonderful tomato people on this forum: Pick your tomatoes when they start to blush and let them ripen inside. They will taste just as good as if vine ripened but you will avoid the temptation of "sharing" your harvest with mother nature. I recently read on a post that the cracking is from a flux of water coming into the tomato so you should harvest before watering the plant. Maybe try that and see if your cracking stops. I am assuming that your cracked tomatoes are rather red by the time the bugs steal it from you? So if you harvest at first blush, or close there after, that may prevent your cracking. I have not had any cracking and I have not had to share my harvest, except for with my loving husband :-) Good luck with the rest of the season.

• jrslick (North Central Kansas, Zone 5B)
    13 years ago

I always pick when they start to blush. They still taste wonderful. I have been pushing this back, a little redder, this year because I haven't had time to pick earlier.

Also if you pick when they are blushing, if you can't pick one day then you won't have a rotting tomato on the vine.

Jay

• digdirt2
    13 years ago

Are these tomatoes ripening off the vine gonna be as good as those ripened on the vine?

They will be even better because they won't be diluted by recent rains or watering or cracked, or bug bit, etc.