Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sharonrossy

Gold medal tomatoes

sharonrossy
11 years ago

Someone gave me 2 gold medal plants. They are about 5 ft tall, have flowers, quite large ones, but not really seeing any fruit. They were planted the 2nd week in June. Is it normal to take this long? I live in Montreal and we've had a hot summer so far. This is my first time with this tomato which came from a farm further north. Any advice?

Comments (8)

• carolyn137
    11 years ago

Patience is my advice. LOL

I've grown Gold Medal and it's one of over about 200 named gold/red bicolors.

Those who list it in the SSE annual Yearbook say it's an 80 to 85 day variety, which is true for some other gold/red bicolors but certainly not all, far from it.

So it's a late season variety which is why I suggested patience. ( wink)

Below is a link to Tania's page for it at her website where over 3, 000 varities have pages, most with pictures and descriptions and seed sources when there are seed sources.

Carolyn

Here is a link that might be useful: Tania's T-base page for Gold Medal

• sharonrossy
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks Carolyn, that's what I figured. Actually I went out again to check, and lo and behold, a couple of small fruits. It doesn't look like it's a plant that gives too many tomatoes, probably because they are so big. I just hope I get to eat one before the frost, LOL!

• Masbustelo
    11 years ago

I'm growing them also this year. I started mine about a month before you and just last week I picked the first ones. Although it looks like it will be a productive variety.

• sharonrossy
    Original Author
    11 years ago

What I' ve noticed that there are only two or three flowers per stem. Guess its because they get so big. I'm hoping it will be productive. Keeping my fingers crossed. Anything special that you do with this one? I've found that heirloom tomatoes have a greater tendency to blossom end rot.

• ikea_gw
    11 years ago