Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ungardener

Help! Tomatoes a bust!

ungardener
15 years ago

I just can't seem to get tomatoes. 2 Years now. My plants are huge but fruir small and sparse and when near coloring in, squirrels or birds get them! I Just completely enclosed them, fed them, and shaded them for a last ditch effort. How do I promote bloosm and the fruit on them now to develop? I saw an article that says to remove most of the leaves. Is this for real? As you guessed, I'm a real novice. Please Help, it's about to cause a divorce with my "$200 tomatoes", as my husband puts it. He wants to rip out the plants and give up. Oh, it's 106-112 degrees here now, also.

Comments (16)

• digdirt2
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Can't say for sure as I don't live in AZ but i think most successful growers there plant at very different times than you are. Very early spring and then again in late fall in to early winter. Now isn't the time. ;)

Your air temps this time of year won't allow for much fruit as "blossom drop" (see the FAQ) would be severe for you I'd think. Plus you mention "huge" plants which often means way too much nitrogen fertilizer which also prevents fruit set.

Size of the fruit will depend on the variety. Squirrels and birds are a problem for many of us which is why we pick the fruit as soon as it begins to ripen, to show color, and let it finish inside on the kitchen counter. You don't have to leave it on the vine for it to ripen.

There are some heat tolerant varieties that may work better for you if planted at the proper time, using shade cloth will also help a little. Your local county extension office can give you info on the best planting times for your area and which varieties work best. You might also want to read the article linked below and talk with some of the gardeners that post over on the Arizona Gardening forum here.

What varieties do you plant and are they in-ground or in containers?

Dave