Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sgtstinkweed

white fuzz/spots on tomato leaves

SgtStinkWeed
9 years ago

About a week ago my younger tomato plants started getting this white fuzz,coating on the leaves. Im not sure what the heck it is, but I am ready for it to go. Ive never used anything beyond water and tomato spikes on them. Im New to fungicides/pesticides, also a bit weary since I dont want to use anything that could be harmful health wise down the road.

any tips on what this is and how i can deal with it?

http://i696.photobucket.com/albums/vv327/MechPilot2/WP_000401_zps6688ffc4.jpg

http://i696.photobucket.com/albums/vv327/MechPilot2/WP_000402_zps2dab2411.jpg

Comments (7)

• CaraRose
    9 years ago

Looks like powdery mildew

• Mike
    9 years ago

Powdery Mildew .. Follow the instructions on the link below, or simply google and you'll find all the help you need..
    Also, that soil looks VERY wet.. Not sure of the mix, but it looks like it'd benefit from some peat or coco .. I'm a fan of the latter... Good luck =)

Here is a link that might be useful: Powdery mildew

• edweather USDA 9a, HZ 9, Sunset 28
    9 years ago

Yeah, looks like powdery mildew. Is your plant in a humid area without much ventilation. I've had it a few times on melon plants. IMO its hard to stop, but can be slowed down a little. Remove as many of the affected leaves as possible and spray with a fungicide.

• SgtStinkWeed
    Original Author
    9 years ago

yea it appears powdery milder is the culprit. I am also seeing some leaves getting chew marks.

can anyone recommend a good 3-1 spray? i see many. then I see the whloe "beware its a GMO" ect using google search. I just want a good spray that will keep the bad bug/fungi off.

• digdirt2
    9 years ago