Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
farpar_gw

Too Wet and too Cold

farpar
9 years ago

We live 30 miles Southeast of Cleveland. Constant rain and "cold" temperatures sometimes in the high 50's or mid 60's at night. I have a variety of tomatoes, hot peppers, green peppers, basil, and zucchini.

Tomatoes aren't really producing that much - 5 to 6 per plant. Only vegs that are doing well are Hungarian hot peppers, zucchini, and green peppers.

Ghost peppers also don't like the weather which is understandable.

Anyone else in the zone 6 having problems? I have been gardening for over 30 years and I would classify this year as one of the worse that I have experienced.

Frank

Comments (8)

• dbrown2351
    9 years ago

I live near Dayton and it's not been a great year for tomatoes, although things are coming along now, late.

Way too much rain , clouds, and cool nights.

Just the last week we have had some hot sunny days and the garden likes it.

• seysonn
    9 years ago

Welcome to the club !
    Probably your weather is much better than mine here in the PNW, Seattle are. Here is our weather today.

• jimmy56_gw (zone 6 PA)
    9 years ago

Not very good weather in the PNW, Here in PA it's been really good so far, 80's during the day an 60's at night.

• planetes
    9 years ago

To be fair Seyson, this is just a brief rain snap for us. Our weather goes back to the 80s this weekend.

The Cold/wet thing is something we deal with a LOT outside of July, August, and the first half of september though.

General advice: be extra vigilent about fungal diseases. They LOVE that weather.

• Deeby
    9 years ago

Oh, to have it chilly, cloudy and raining hard ! Right now I'd love that !

• seysonn
    9 years ago