Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rt_peasant

Problems with container grown tomatoes

rt_peasant
9 years ago

Hi, I'm new to growing tomatoes in containers, and I'm having trouble with curling leaves. I've read in multiple places that too much water, too little water, or too much nitrogen could cause the leaves to curl. My potting mix is miracle gro potting soil with composted alpaca manure in a 3.5:1 ratio. I got the idea for this mix on nctomatoman's blog. It's hot and dry where I live in Colorado, so I doubt that too much water is my problem. I've tried steadily increasing the watering up to a thorough daily soaking, and nothing seems to make a difference. Any ideas?

Bloody Butcher

close-up of Bloody Butcher

Tami-G and Santa F2

close-up of Tami-G

Comments (8)

• labradors_gw
    9 years ago

The planter in the first picture looks as if it might be made of clay. If so, they dry out really fast. The second planter is black, so the heat could be a problem for that one.....

I water my containers twice a day.

Just my two cents worth.

Linda

• digdirt2
    9 years ago

Feed it too. Your plants are showing all the classic symptoms of inconsistent watering issues (tomato leaf roll) and nutrient deprivation.

That composted manure quickly loses any nutrients every time you water plus it is only valuable as a nutrient source if there is an active soil micro-herd to digest it. That doesn't happen well in containers. The heat and low humidity kills them off. There are plenty of organic liquid supplements you can use to feed it at least once week.

You need to come up with a day to stabilize your soil moisture levels.

Dave

• seysonn
    9 years ago

As I look at your first picture, first thing crosses my mind is : It Needs Water. The second thing is (question form) : Why is it so small ? Maybe it is a small det variety ?:

WATERING and LEAF CURL.