Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
roorezzi

Black spots on my tomatoes...

roorezzi
15 years ago

Hi All -

I am new to vegetable gardening. This year I wanted to give it a try, so I tried tomatoes. I am growing them in a container on our deck. It is growing well with a bunch of tomatoes and it gets good sun - but I have noticed that as the tomatoes get bigger there are black spots on them. They are on the tomato itself not the leaves. I didn't notice the spots until about a week ago - when I went out to look at the first one to see if it was turning red yet.

Does anyone know whats casuing this? Are they still safe to eat?

I can't remember what type of tomato it was but it said it was good for containers when I picked it up.

PLease Help!! The first one is turning red FINALLY!

Ruth

Comments (32)

• containerted
    15 years ago

A picture would make it much easier to help you.

Where on the tomato is the spot - bottom, top, side, ????
    And describe the spot in detail - discoloration, rot, size of spot, etc.

• roorezzi
    Original Author
    15 years ago

ok - I just went out and was able to snap a few pictures.

The spot is not in more so on the side and it looks like a round indentation.

SOme of the newer tomatoes don't have the spots - but I think they were developing as the tomato got bigger. I didn't notice them when they were little.

Here are a the pics that I took:
    The red one...

One still growing...

The leaves at the bottom. Some I got rid of but this is one that had some yellow on it..

The other one getting red - this looks terrible not sure if theres more wrong with it...Alsos much larger than the ripe one..

Here is a green one that looks like it is going to get a "dimple" in a few spots.. You can kind of see it on this pic.

What should I do? Is the plant ruined? or Can they be eaten?? What are the causes?

Thanks for helping out a newbie...

Ruth

• carolyn137
    15 years ago