Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
catman529

First Black Krim

catman529
14 years ago

{{gwi:1365009}}

Now while you sit there and salivate, I'll say it's my first time growing this variety, and so far it is a great tomato. The flavor is very unique, and I love it. Definitely a must-have for next year's garden.

Now I could have posted this in the latest Tomato Pictures thread, but it needed its own place at the top of the page. ;)

Who else is growing BK this year?

Comments (10)

• jwr6404
    14 years ago

I have one plant in a 20+ gallon container. BK,in my case,appears to be a very heavy producer which I didn't expect. I had actually considered thinning it out leaving 10-12 tomatoes but laziness has gotten in the way and your post has caused me to change my mind.
    Jim

• kandm
    14 years ago

Since I live in an area with a mild winter I started a bumper crop on tomatoes, including the Black Krim, on June 1st. I'm planning to hardening them off this week and get them into the ground by the last week of July. Hopefully they will not start blooming until temperature goes down to the mid 80s.

I am glad I went ahead and planted some, the Krim look amazing and I'm not sure if I could wait until next season!

• catman529
    Original Author
    14 years ago

It is a great tomato. I just like smelling the slices, almost as much as I like eating them.

I've got high hopes for Indian Stripe, which hasn't ripened any fruit yet.

• tammysf
    14 years ago

I have a black krim and am surprised how prolific the plant is. I read it had great flavor but am pleasantly surpised by how many and how big the tomatoes are. They are my biggest tomatoes (bigger than big beef and marvel striped). I have about 30 large toms on one plant and about 10 are bigger than tennis ball some as big as baseballs.

I really can't wait to eat this one.

• sunnyside1
    14 years ago