Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wayright

seed saving question

wayright
14 years ago

This is my first year of saving tomato seeds,I am doing the fermentation method(covered jar ,little water)and of the 6 jars only one has the mold growing on top(after 3 days) I also read not to leave them for more than 3 days,my question is ,If there is no mold do I leave them in longer,if not will they still be viable? maybe I put in too much water? about 2 inches in a small jar.

Kevin

Comments (36)

• digdirt2
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Did you include enough of the pulp and juice to get the fermentation going? Air holes? Depending on the size of the jar, 2" of water may be too much. I add a couple of tablespoons full, 4 T max for large amounts of seed.

Dave

• catman529
    14 years ago

My seeds take far longer than 3 days to ferment. I get a good layer of mold on the surface after a week or so, then I peel off the mold and strain and rinse the seeds. They won't turn dark after a week or so of fermenting. I also add a little water to the pulp so they don't dry up.

• wayright
    Original Author
    14 years ago

I actually used plastic cups with paper towel and rubber band on top,and I didnt realize that I needed pulp.there is the pulp layer around each seed but I tried to get mainly seeds to squirt out. I would estimate that I used 5-8 TBS of water to 1 TBS of seed, So maybe too much water? can I pour some out? or do I need to start over?(I have plenty growing)
    Kevin

• digdirt2
    14 years ago

You need pulp and juice for fermentation. Normally you get enough by just cleaning out the seed cavities as the attached pulp comes with them.

Dave

• richchicago
    14 years ago