Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jay_power

"Bleached" splotches on my tomato plant's leaves

jay_power
10 years ago

Hello everyone!

My name is Jay and I am a brand new member of this forum. I decided to join while trying to search for information about the issues that I am having with my tomato plant.

Let me start by saying that I am a complete novice when it comes to gardening but want to learn more and become more knowledgeable. As is probably the case with many (if not most) people who join different kinds of forums, they (and I) find myself here because of an issue that I need help with.

I have attached a photo (and can provide more if asked) of my tomato plant that I just bought Saturday, from Home Depot. When I first brought it home, it looked perfectly normal but by yesterday I noticed that the leaves look almost like they have been "bleached", and it is definitely worse and more noticeable today than it was yesterday.

The soil seems to be moist, so I don't think that I have under watered it. I tried to do a google search but could not come up with anything that seemed to be exactly what I am having an issue with. Any and all help will be greatly appreciated.

This post was edited by jay_power on Mon, Jul 8, 13 at 17:02

Comments (10)

• edweather USDA 9a, HZ 9, Sunset 28
    10 years ago

Hard to really see the plant clearly, but it looks like sun damage. Decks, and small pots can get hot. How big is the container? 2 gal, 5 gal? From the camera angle the pot looks small.

• sjetski
    10 years ago

I'm thinking the same as edweather, likely sunburn.

Were the plants sitting in a fully shaded spot at the store you purchased it from? If so then unfortunately they have to be re-introduced into the sun slowly. Sometimes as little as a 1/2 hour of direct sun on their first day, then upped in increments on the following days ~ 1 hour, 2 hours etc, it all depends on how much direct sun they've been exposed to in the recent past.