Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
essenceofecletic999

how do you use tomato cages?

I know that tomato cages are used so that the vines of the tomato have a place to climb and so they have something to latch onto. I found instructions on how to build tomato cages.

The question I have is this: how do you use tomato cages? I've never used them before, so I'm unfamiliar with how you use them? I'll be growing the tomatoes in 5 gallon containers. Should I just put the cages behind the containers, or do I put the containers the where the tomatoes are growing in the center of the cage?

Also this is off-topic, but can anybody recommend a good all-purpose variety of tomato to grow in the garden? One that is good for general cooking uses as well? (in salads, soups, sauces, etc.)

Comments (16)

• tomahtohs
    15 years ago

I would set the tomato so that it grows in the center of the cage That way it won't fall over. Tomatoes don't have tendrils or anything, so they really won't "grab" onto a cage located close to them unless you manually pull the leaves through the openings of the cage.

Kevin

• tn_veggie_gardner
    15 years ago

Home Depot sells metal wire tomato cages for like barely over a dollar. Thdey work great! I get one of those & these kind of brace thing for the main stem & that seems to work just fine. My tomatoes are a later than usual crop this year, but the pic below shows you a great setup for under $2.

• sprtsguy76
    15 years ago

I would build homemade concrete wire cages, they last forever and are much stronger than the tomato cages.

• macheske
    15 years ago

Just put the cage around the plant so that it is in the middle. I put 1 t post in the ground next to the CRW cage and attach it with a large zip tie. Those little HD cages are funny... My plants are over 7' now. I don't think I would be able to find them. They might be big enough for some of my peppers.

• linnea56 (zone 5b Chicago)
    15 years ago